Mike Hernandez DipMus(Open) DipABRSM - Clarinettist

Mike first began to study clarinet at ten years of age at Grange Middle School, Harrow. He succeeded in gaining awards both in competitions organised by the Harrow Schools Music Association and as a participant in the Ruislip-Northwood Music Festivals. As a member of the Harrow School for young musicians he also occupied principal positions in both the Harrow Concert Band and Philharmonic Orchestras. At this time he decided to pursue a career in military music joining the Band of the Royal Air Force Regiment at Catterick, North Yorkshire in 1991 before successfully auditioning for a position within the Central Band of the Royal Air Force at RAF Uxbridge in 1994.

In 1998 he transferred to the Band of the Welsh Guards and has been its principal clarinettist since 2000. He has also been called upon to perform on a wider scale as clarinettist within the Corps of Army Music Sinfonietta.

Outside of his service within the army he remains a keen musician eager to encourage and support others. His most recent achievements include a Masterclass  hosted by Andrew Marriner and a guest performance with the Barnet Concert Band to raise funds for the Alzheimer's Society. His affiliation with the Clarinet and Saxophone Society of Great Britain has included performance as a member of the Inner City Four Clarinet Quartet in support of the Angela Fussell Memorial Day at Kneller Hall. He has performed major symphonic and solo works in the civilian field including Mozart's Clarinet Concerto and Sinfonia Concertante, Rossini's Theme and Variations and Dvorak's Serenade for Wind in D Minor as a member of Finchley Chamber Orchestra

Mike currently resides in North-West London with his wife and two children and has an ambition to fulfil a career in Music Therapy  upon his succession from the army. 

                                                     Contact Details:

+44 (0) 7974 203171

Group Email

Personal Email

       To hear an excerpt of Mike playing the Rossini Variations, please click on the link below.

                                          Click here to download this file